My First Release

This week I ended up actually helping some of my colleagues to improve some of their projects from previous week. I found one bug that needed a small fix to have it run correctly and also added a text editor to another one of my colleagues app. The fixes themselves were quite easy and quick to do but I did have to figure out how to properly set up my environment to submit these issues.

For my first Issue I noticed that one of my colleagues apps was missing a simple check for empty string so that it could display the correct message. To create a pull request there are a couple of steps that you have to do first.

  1. Fork the repo that you would like to work on
  2. Clone the forked repo
  3. Add a remote for the original repo
  4. Checkout a branch that you will be working on
  5. Once you did the changes add and commit your work
  6. And then push those changes to your fork

After you done all that you can create a pull request and submit your work.  

The second issue that I did was to add a text editor to a note taking app. Since I have never worked with Trix, so it took me some time to figure out how to add it. Good thing they had a documentation on their website so I figured out how to go about it and added the editor to my colleagues app.

It was a fun and good learning experience in an Open Source community that I would like to continue, and hopefully will end up working on some bigger projects in the future.

Leave a comment